Travel with a Purpose

Travel_with_Purpose_flipper_571x333_0While contemplating my next trip abroad, I was trying to think of ways to make my trip more interesting.  So, I went out in search of travel experiences I could have beyond just visiting a resort and doing a few excursions.

When I travel, I try to take some time just going out with no particular agenda to get a feel for where I am.  I don’t like to take organized tours unless it’s for something specific like snorkeling or kayaking.  I prefer to explore an area on my own.  I research a little in advance but leave the itinerary flexible for things I might find when I get there.

That being said, I would really like to have a meaningful experience in my next trip.  So, I began looking for a volunteer opportunity abroad.  A simple online search yielded these sites:

One site features an awesome opportunity to volunteer at an organic cocoa farm in Costa Rica.  How much better can it get than that?  I’m adding that one to my bucket list.

If you have any experience with volunteering while traveling, I’d love to hear about your experience in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

